Analyzing Your Favorite Works

Literature analysis, is something I have always enjoyed, as you’ve seen with my What Are You Reading posts. I enjoy making the connections in the story with the outside worlds, as well as with the writer. I like researching the story to see how the time it was written influenced it. But I also like trying to find how what I read is connecting to me. It makes the story more important to me.

So the next time you are re-reading your favorite book for the 8th time, take a few moments and write down what it is that you love about it. From there try and figure out why you like those things or dislike them.

In the end, take a close look at the plot. Ask yourself

What was the writer trying to tell me, the reader?

Like I always say. All writing is commentary.

Leave a Reply

