My Love/Hate Relationship with Writing Prompts

Writing prompts are ideas meant to inspire the writer to write, or give the writer a chance to practice the craft. Really, it’s just an opportunity to think outside of the box.

And I have one issue with them.

Though, yes, they are useful to others, for me, writing prompts are a pain to deal with. Mostly because it is difficult for me to feel involved with a writing prompt and eventually it just comes out with horrible writing. This issue was a problem I had back in school. The North Carolina Writing Test was the bane of my existence, for a long time. But maybe it’s also because I have a little bit of a rebellious streak in me.

This issue, as I’ve seen, has been on me. Not the prompt itself. They are incredibly helpful to other writers. So maybe I should keep trying?

What do you feel about writing prompts? What are your favorite websites/books of prompts? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

