Writing Music (That You Can Listen To)

Does your writing space seem too quiet? Or do you feel like you aren’t getting the emotions just right?

Well have you tried adding music yet? Movies use it to imply the emotions and tone in a scene, even if the characters don’t say a word.

Music is a powerful thing, so why not use it?

When it comes to adding music to your writing routine, ask yourself what emotion you want to convey and try to find a type of music to match it. If you want, try to think of it like a soundtrack for your book.

For example:

If you want something whimsical, try out intrumental or “new age” music.

Going into battle? Hard Rock and Metal may be the way to go for you.

Jazz is useful when you are working through calmer scenes.

Another idea, is try listening to similar music that your character is listening to. This comes in handy when you are trying to get their emotions down, and not just the overall tone of the scene.

So what kind of music do you listen to for your writing? Do you have a playlist or a Pandora/Spotify station? Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Writing Music (That You Can Listen To)

  1. Since I have Amazon Prime, I just find music I like and add it to a playlist that I just put on Shuffle afterwards. Almost 500 songs, and if I hear something I’ve already heard recently, I skip it and move on. I have everything from musicals to rock, country to jazz, and even some instrumental. It’s great.

  2. Heh. Writing in silence is actually kind of weird for me, so my problem is that I sometimes take too long to decide what I want to listen to! :p

    I usually have a streaming station going during the day, but the Novel Writing Time is usually reserved for specific albums I have in my (admittedly far too large) mp3 collection. I do pretty much the same you do…the selection depends on what scenes I happen to be writing. I tend to go for full albums instead of a playlist, as the change in artist sometimes breaks my concentration.

Leave a Reply

