Handwriting VS. Digitial

Everyone has their own way of getting their words out. Before the age of computers everything was either written by hand or on a typewriter, but with the mulititude of writing programs for your computer, you wonder if handwritten words still exist. Actually, they do. A good portion of writers still hand write their work before typin git up on a computer, including myself. Though younger generations show a decline in the use of handwriting, there are still many benefits to holding the pen, just like there are benefits to using the keyboard instead.

Handwriting Benefits:

  • Better memory
  • You can see changes (check out my editing posts)
  • Emotions expressed through the shapes of letters
  • Notes can be put in margins
  • Higher word and page count (You see progress but don’t focus on a number.)

Digital Writing Benefits:

  • Faster writing
  • Editing is easier since it automatically adjusts.
  • You don’t have to worry about losing it in papers.
  • Aesthetically pleasing
  • Creates a better sense of organization.

For myself, I hand write every post before it goes up, mainly because it helps my mind become clear before editing. I am easily distracted when I start getting ideas and it helps to have it all in front of me so I can edit as I transfer.

So what about you? Let me know by trying out the poll below! Want to elaborate on which works for you and why? Please let me know in the comments! I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

