Getting Yourself to Sit and Write

We’ve all had those days where we want to write but don’t feel the focus to do it. I will usually have it for weeks on end, especially when I’m working on new posts. You want to write; you need to write, so what can you do to make yourself become focused?

Take a moment to think back to college or high school, maybe to a test that was a big deal to you if you passed or failed. Can you remember some of the things you did to help focus you on studying? Like specific music you played or a little ritual you had? If you can remember that, then test them out again. Change it up if you find that something doesn’t work for you.

But if you can’t, or didn’t have something that worked, here are some ideas to get you started:

1) Are you Creatively Chaotic or Optimally Organized?

For some, they need a little bit of chaos to focus their mind, while others need everything in it’s place. It’s important to realize which one you are (or the proportion of the two) so you can know what type of environment you need to focus.

2) Location, Location, Location

Sometimes we need a special place to get ourselves into the mindset for work. For myself, I have to be at a desk. If you are closer to the Chaos side, you might feel a better focus in a coffee shop or in front of the TV. Ultimately, you need to feel comfortable where you are, especially if you are going to be there for a few hours.

3) Have a Focus Object

This may sound weird but hear me out on this. Last year I started trying to do meditation for my anxiety, and I couldn’t focus at all. I was restless and I couldn’t keep my eyes closed. Finally I remembered how I was able to zone out in school if I focused my eyes on a single spot, and I’ve begun to incorporate that into my meditation by focusing on the flame of one of my scented candles. Doing this worked for me so well that I’ve got to have a candle lit in order to become focused on writing. If my mind ever wanders I just stop for a minute and stare at the candle flame until my mind is focused again.

4) Set a Timer

It can be an old fashioned egg timer or one on your phone, but forcing yourself to out do the clock can get you going. Especially if you want to hit a specific word count like in NaNoWriMo.

5)Devil is in the Details

Small things help you get into writing mode. Pay attention to them. It can be a power outfit or your favorite fluffy Chewbacca slippers. It may even be a cup of coffee. Just make sure you make a mental note for when you are having difficulties focusing.


Do you have a special method of getting focused? Let me know in the comments below!

Keep on Writing!

Jess

 

Leave a Reply

