Do Inspiration Boards Work?

Pinterest has kind of become the new time sucker for millions, but it does provide a fountain of inspiration. Before Pinterest, we had collages and inspiration boards. I even had one, before Pinterest came around, for my writing and on it was quotes of writers that reached me and inspired me to write more. At the time it worked but was bare with a lot of white space on it, and I hung it over my bed so it would be the first thing I saw in the morning.

For me it worked, because if I was having a hard time I would just lay back and the best writers would be there with their words to guide me. I’m not a super visual person when it comes to being inspired, so that is why I used quotes instead of pictures.

For you, it can be whatever you want it to be. Pictures, quotes, random little drawings that your four year old nephew did, anything you want.

To make a physical inspiration board you just need:

  • Poster board
  • Markers in all the colors you like
  • Glue/Tape
  • Inspiring Pictures or Quotes

Not much but it does get the job done, and if you are the more technical type or you just want something that you can have access to no matter where you are, Pinterest is great!

For a Pinterest inspiration board, just create the board and maybe make it a secret board. From there, it’s just pin what inspires you to write. Very simple and very useful!

Just make it a day to be fun and search for things that inspire you, and if you get some ideas on the way of making it, write it down. That’s how you know it works.

Keep on Writing,

Jess

Leave a Reply

