Guest Post: A Day in the Life – Debbie Manber Kupfer

In today’s A Day in the Life post, we get to meet Debbie Kupfer author of the P.A.W.S. series as she explains with a little focus, a lot of tea, and some chocolate we can get through any story.

A Day in the Life of Debbie Manber Kupfer

“Bye Mom,” the backdoor closes and my son, Joey, leaves for school. The house is peaceful. I dump Joey’s breakfast plates in the sink and put on the kettle.

Tea, I must have tea. Tetley’s British Blend, strong with milk. I sip the warm, brown elixir feeling its power waking my brain. Details of my story return and the caffeine performs its wake up magic.

TeaQuote

Image Created by Rachel Bostwick

 

I fire up my laptop, but don’t turn on the wifi – the Internet will be my reward for completing my daily words. It is April and this April for Camp NaNoWriMo I’ve set myself a very doable word count target – just 30k for the month – 1k per day.

This month I want to finish two projects. I started writing the first draft of P.A.W.S. 3 (currently called “Maze of Shadows”) last November in NaNoWriMo. For camp I’m determined to finish the first draft and if I have words left over I plan also to finish a short story I’m writing for an anthology (a crazy sci-fi horror comedy about a vacuu-droid called Doris).

I generally have a hard time writing every day throughout the year, but three times a year for NaNo is far more doable. For those writers out there who like me have difficulty staying on task I highly recommend NaNoWriMo.

I scroll down to the end of my impossibly long document wondering where all those words came from and whether any of them make sense. No matter, I’ll go back through them when I edit in July. For now the key is just to get to the end of the story.

As I write I lose myself in my words, surprising myself as my characters take me off in directions I never imagined. I’m excited to discover where it will all end.

It takes me around an hour to complete my one thousand words. I save my work and go and make myself another cup of tea. I reward myself with a dark chocolate Hershey Kiss, which I eat slowly while I check my messages and Facebook.

Yes, I think with enough tea and dark chocolate I really can achieve anything!

 

About the Author

debssmallDebbie grew up in the UK in the East London suburb of Barking. She has lived in Israel, New York and North Carolina and somehow ended up in St. Louis, where she works as a writer and a freelance puzzle constructor of word puzzles and logic problems. She lives with her husband, two children and a very opinionated feline. Her first novel, P.A.W.S., was published in June 2013 and her second book in the series, Argentum, was released in October 2014. In addition she has stories in several anthologies including Fauxpocalypse, Shades of Fear, Darkly Never After, and Sins of The Past. In February 2015 she published a book of logic puzzles, Paws 4 Logic, with her son Joey.

Connect with Debbie on her blogs:

Paws4Thought: http://debbiemanberkupfer.wordpress.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DebbieManberKupferAuthor

Twitter: @CiciCat42

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Debbie-Manber-Kupfer/e/B00DHPNJ5I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7142164.Debbie_Manber_Kupfer

 

One thought on “Guest Post: A Day in the Life – Debbie Manber Kupfer

Leave a Reply

