Rest Well Sir Terry Pratchett

I was going to write a post on the Master/Slave Dynamic. Not something easy to write, so I was avoiding it by going through facebook. Now my heart hurts, and I have an even harder post to write.

Terry Pratchett is gone.

If you don’t know who that is, then you have no idea what real fantasy writing can be like. Completely immersed. He is known for writing the Discworld series. A series where the world itself was the main focus and not one single character.

I no longer have the cover, sadly. It got a lot of water damage when one of my windows was broken. 😦

My first book written by this wonderful mind was Wyrd Sisters. A 1988 hardcover copy with it’s yellowed pages given to me by my Uncle Johnny when I was in 6th Grade. I open it and the pages still smell like his apartment. When I read it the first time, I’ll admit, none of it sunk in. I couldn’t tell you anything about that story except that it made no sense to me. Maybe at thirteen I wasn’t ready for that mature of a fantasy novel. Or maybe I wasn’t paying attention. But I read it again when I got older, and loved it. That same old copy with it’s yellowed pages just waited for me to mature a little more to absorb the enormity of the universe that is Discworld. Funny enough Wyrd Sisters is a hard one to find now. Usually all you can find in a bookstore is his later books but not this one. I guess that makes me lucky to have this book. To turn it’s pages and read it’s words. To fully immerse myself in it’s world.

Starring Three Witches, also kings, daggers, crowns, storms, dwarfs, cats, ghosts, specters, apes, bandits, demons, forests, heirs, jesters, tortures, trolls, truntables, general rejoicing, and divers alarums.

[Introduction to Wyrd Sisters]

Thank you Sir Pratchett. Without you the Fantasy genre wouldn’t be so wonderful.

Keep on Writing.

Jess

One thought on “Rest Well Sir Terry Pratchett

Leave a Reply

