Finding Your Voice

I thought this post would be fitting since I’ve recently lost my voice because of the cold I’ve had for the past week.

Right now I’ve been trying to find my voice again, in many ways. I’m trying to get to where I can talk to people without inducing physical pain (still can’t sing yet) but I’m also trying to find my voice as a writer again. I worry quite often that I will lose it after spending a long time away from my writing.

The only way to find out is to start writing again, and later compare it to your previous work. If you do find that your work is different than it was before…..

Listen to your Hitchhiker’s Guide. 😉

More than likely your writing voice has just changed over time. If it’s become completely incoherent, then maybe you need to spend some time figuring out what you want it to be. Here are some quick questions to ask:

Who do I respond well to as a reader? Who do I respond well to as a writer?

(Yes those answers are different. The same author may be able to connect with you on the level of a narrator but not as a writer.)

Do I like to write simply or more complex?

Personally I prefer simple writing as a reader but as a writer I try to go for complex. That may be because I process simple writing faster in my mind but when it comes to my own writing I feel like the more complex it becomes the better my work will be. Does that get in my way? All the time.

What are my readers looking for?

If you are gearing towards an audience that is in search of a certain voice, it may be a good idea to accommodate to it. But I never recommend changing your voice for someone else. It’s your signature on a page of words after all.

Just a few things to keep in mind when you are looking for your writing voice.

Want to keep up with newer posts? Click here to sign up for the weekly newsletter!

 

Leave a Reply

