Online Classes for Writers

I’ve never stopped liking an intellectual challenge, or more just the idea of studying and learning as much as I can. If I could afford to I would take the online webinars offered by Writer’s Digest every chance I could, but one of their webinars is about a paycheck and a half for me. The same goes for the Gotham Writer’s Workshop. Would if I could, but I can’t. So I’m constantly buying and checking out writing books from the library and trying to figure things out on my own but sometimes I need more structure than that. I’ve looked around at these “free” online classes for writing and I’ve only found one that is actually helpful for me. Coursera is what I use for online classes. It offers over 400 different classes to choose from from colleges all over the world, all free and offered from the kindness of the educators hearts. I’ve found the classes to be pretty nice. Sure they mainly offer the basic writing courses, but I’m doing this Fantasy/Sci-Fi class that discusses how the genre has affected society and reflects the views of the time they are written in. The video lectures are really interesting to me.

Does anyone else know of any writing classes that are free? Or do you have anything in your area that you like to go to? 🙂

Happy 4th of July Fireworks

 

 

UPDATE!!!!!

Alice de Sturler asked if I could post up links to the classes I’m taking so everyone can check them out, so here they are! (I’m actually surprised I didn’t think of doing that earlier. Haha.)

Coursera Website – http://www.coursera.org

Fantasy and Science Fiction: The Human Mind, Our Modern World Class – https://www.coursera.org/course/fantasysf

English Composition I: Achieving Expertise – https://www.coursera.org/course/composition

Want to keep up with posts but don’t want to check everyday? Click here to sign up for the weekly newsletter!

5 thoughts on “Online Classes for Writers

  1. I’ve had a look at some of these courses. I did half of one about grammar which helped me a great deal. Sadly I don’t regularly have the time to commit to these courses. They look good though.

Leave a Reply

