Why Do I Write?

I get asked this question a lot by people. My friends, coworkers, even other writers. I guess it’s that question you ask a person who says their a writer to find out if they really are one. The question kind of becomes a test, your work is a sort of proving ground. Then again, there is also those who use the question to patronize you a little. I’ve met people like that once or twice. You assume that they think you aren’t a writer because you have nothing published, even though this isn’t always the case. They are more often curious as to why you decided to take this crazy path.

Sometimes we wonder that ourselves. We forget why we started and in turn lose our passion. In a way it kind of gives those who patronize you justification, because you gave up.

So I’ll ask you the question.

Why do you write?

I write for a lot of reasons.

I write for an escape. There were a lot of times in my life where I wanted to run. Run until I stopped being able to hear and my vision began to be fuzzy, fading into the darkness. Writing helped me get everything out. I also write to find freedom. I’ve always been a reserved person, very aware of my limits. I’m that girl that you find hiding in the corner of the library surrounded by stacks of books. Writing lets me become who I want to be. It helps me go past those limits. If I wanted to I can create a character that’s invincible, that can fly, perform magic.

I write to create a family. Yes, my eventual goal is to be published but I don’t want to be famous. (Okay maybe I want to be just a little bit.) At the end of the day though, I want to know that I created a family with my readers. Something that people connect with and in turn have them come together into a community. Fandoms are families. They stick together and fight for what they love. Sometimes it goes to a horrible place but still.

I write to quiet my brain. Sometimes it sucks having a brain that’s a million places at the same time.

Now it’s your turn. Why do you write?

Want to keep up with posts? Click here for the Weekly Newsletter for updates!

Leave a Reply

