Second Liebster Award

It’s Liebster Award time again! 😀 This time I was nominated by Janna at Words of Procrastination. If you’ve read the last Liebster Award I did you know how this goes. I answer 10 questions and give 10 questions to 10 blogs that I follow who are under 200 followers.

Why do you write?

I write to find freedom. Freedom for myself and freedom for my readers in the words. I used reading as an escape as a child, I used it as courage when I was older, and I want to do the same for my readers.

What do you hope to achieve with your writing? (E.g. raise awareness of something, tell a story, teach a lesson…)

I hope to achieve a connection with my writing. People who are fans of something connect on that common interest. For example, the Harry Potter Fandom has always been like a family. You don’t hear them having fandom wars with anyone but they stand by each other when it was believed the universe of Harry Potter had come to an end. I don’t want to be that writer that says I write because I want to be famous. I want to be that writer who creates a family of readers not fans. Maybe one day my future readers will find that sentence and hopefully I’ll still be saying that years to come.

If you could go back in time and give yourself some writing advice what would it be?

I would tell myself to not stop. Life may suck at the time but that can’t stop you from doing something that makes you happy. Your parent’s will think it’s a phase, write a letter to them saying that they are wrong. Write your problems out and use characters to find out how the scenario works for you.

Do you listen to music as you write? If so, what sort of music?

I like to listen to music when I’m trying to get a certain scene written, like a fight scene. I’ll end up listening to something like Five Finger Death Punch, or Halestorm. Otherwise I end up listening to something like Evanescence.

Where do you get your ideas from?

Lots of coffee and sleepless nights.

What is your writing process? Are you a pantser, a plotter or a mixture?

I used to be a pantser but that was getting me nothing but really bad writing so I’m trying to get more into plotting and outlining things.

Where do you write best? (E.g. at your desk, in bed, in a cafe…)

I would do a lot of things to get my own writing desk again (currently shopping/daydreaming for one at Wal-Mart) but I actually have to spend time at home to use it. I’m only at home maybe two days a week so most of the time I’m sitting in one of the booths in the restaurant I work at trying to write something between shifts or before my boyfriend gets off of work. But the days that I’m stuck waiting get a lot of outlining done for the short story!

Is there anyone that keeps you writing despite struggles? If so, who?

My boyfriend keeps me writing a lot. If I don’t write for a long time, I start getting into a depression. Then he comes around and tells me that I’m happier when I’m writing. One time I was in a depression and he would text me asking me to tell him a story. That entire day was spent with me telling him the story of a young troll who avenged her village and the death of her mentor to return home and take his place as a leader.

If you could meet any Author who would it be?

Patricia Briggs. Hands down. I would love to just sit down with her and talk about books, writing, etc. I love her books and her characters.

What is your favourite book of all time?

Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry is still my favorite. Every time I read it, I gain a new perspective on it.

Tag You’re It: (I don’t have 10 bloggers just yet but I do have 5 now! Yay!)

Janna from Words of Procrastination of a Young Writer – We can do tag-backs right? Lol.

Tom from Cartography of Dreams – I love his posts on world building for fantasy. It’s had to find good sources to help you create worlds but his site is a great one to check out. 🙂

On the Road to Inkrichment – Wonderful site filled with the quirks of life as a writer. Also some beautiful pictures.

Emma Jane on Another Beautiful Rhyme – I love seeing her little writing updates and reading her poetry.

Franny Marie – For two reasons. 1) She was the blogger who tagged me the first time. 2) Because I find her adorable. 😛

10 Questions to Ask:

  1. What is your favorite part of writing?
  2. What is your ultimate end goal with your writing?
  3. If you can describe yourself in one word what would it be? If you need to make a word up, please do! 😀
  4. What five books do you have on your nearest bookshelf?
  5. If you could go back in time to meet a famous writer who is now dead, who would it be?
  6. How would you handle if someone you wouldn’t be able to write anymore?
  7. If you met your future self, what would you hope they would be like?
  8. What is your work in progress right now?
  9. What do you listen to when you are writing? Or do you sit in silence?
  10. What is your ideal writing spot?

Want to keep up with posts on here but aren’t able to check everyday? Click here to sign up for the weekly newsletter! I won’t fill up your inbox, promise.

One thought on “Second Liebster Award

  1. Thanks for the nomination! 🙂 Your questions look really fun, can’t wait to start answering them (I’ve got a really busy week ahead so sadly it won’t be today or tomorrow but I will get to it at some point)!

    Janna

Leave a Reply

