What are You Reading? – Introduction

As you can tell from my lengthy reading list, which(thanks to my friend ED Martin) continues to grow, that I read quite a bit. It is normal for me to be reading multiple books at a time. I also have a passion for analyzing books that I read. When I like a book, I always read it again and try to find out why I liked it or what parts I thought I didn’t like. Normally I would finish a book and in my excitement of  finishing, try to talk about the book with my boyfriend but get nowhere with it. He’s either read the book before me or hasn’t read it and probably isn’t going to. What else could you expect? He’s a chef. I’m a writer. We both get excited about different things.

I try doing reviews on websites like Goodreads, but again I really get nowhere with it. It doesn’t bring much discussion on the book rather than people commenting on their dislikes. Not much analysis sometimes either. I want to be able to write a review and not worry about it getting hidden because it contains “Spoilers.”

River Song.

The Whovian in me couldn’t resist.

I want to write reviews that will get people to read more. If I could get just one person to read a book that they didn’t know about or weren’t sure they would like it, awesome. It would be even better if this begins a discussion about the book, or literature in general. Just anything other than, “Oh I like that book too!” Have a differing opinion! Agree and have a different reason! (Okay now I’m starting to sound like Hard Harry in Pump Up the Volume, sorry. I’ll calm down now.) The goal is: Discussion. Though by the next post I’ll end up making a comment guidelines page, just to keep things from getting out of hand. (I know a few people that get angry over book discussions way too easy.) [Update: The Comment Guidelines Page has been posted.]

Basic Layout:

Of course the basic information will be at the top of the post, and links to buy the book. (I’m still considering joining Amazon Affiliate for this.)

The rest of the post will include a summary of the book and my analysis of the book.

From there, the rest is up to you.

I just start the discussion, it’s you who keeps it going. If you’ve read the book before, let me know your thoughts. If you haven’t but have questions, feel free to ask. If you have suggestions on what to read next, please put it in the comments or go to My Ultimate Reading List page and add it on. I am always looking for new things to read. 🙂

Want to keep up with what I’m reading now? Click here to sign up for the weekly newsletter for updates.

3 thoughts on “What are You Reading? – Introduction

  1. I think that this is a great idea. I have always been an avid reader until recently as I spend more time writing than reading. I love that you are looking for differing ideas and for it to be a discussion. I have never really analyzed what i like in a book, so I look forward to reading more.
    Easter

      • I do read when I have to have hospital stays. I probably have read a lot that you have as well, so I will keep my eyes open! I would love to see what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

