Back to My Writing Roots

Everything has a beginning. It’s  best known by writers. We have multiple beginnings. One of which is how we began to write.

You can say it was essays in school. (Although that too is universal.) Or short stories you would write for yourself or your family. Maybe you just started writing. A novel idea just popped in your head and you  had the guts to go with it.

For me it was fanfiction. Yes, you heard me right. My writing life started with a fanfiction. Jonas Brothers fanfiction.

Yeah, the Nerdy part of me is ashamed of that last part.

Believe me when I tell you that my writing has gotten better since then. I was writing in really bad formats; my grammar was horrific; dialogue looked as if I was trying to write a script. It just wasn’t pretty, but I decided to learn from it. I used excerpts to learn how to write in different POV and the necessary transitions needed to switch to another character. Ultimately, it showed me how weak of a writer I was at that time and how much I had left to learn.

I got a lot of nasty comments from other “Writers” who believe that fanfiction is a sort of “abomination” in literature. What they don’t realize is that a lot of people write fanfiction and use it as a starting point in their writing. They just change things to make it their own and they do become popular. For example:

The Fifty Shades trilogy was developed from a Twilight fan fiction series originally titled Master of the Universe and published episodically on fan-fiction websites under the pen name “Snowqueen’s Icedragon”. The piece featured characters named after Stephenie Meyer‘s characters in TwilightEdward Cullen and Bella Swan. After comments concerning the sexual nature of the material, James removed the story from the fan-fiction websites and published it on her own website, FiftyShades.com. Later she rewrote Master of the Universe as an original piece, with the principal characters renamed Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele and removed it from her website before publication.
(From the Wikipedia page for 50 Shades of Grey)

And now the once fanfiction, is becoming a movie to be released on February 13, 2015. So don’t knock out fanfiction until you’ve read it. A lot of fanfiction is very detailed and accurate of original ideas that it represents, and then you have fanfiction close to Fifty Shades where the poor editor probably suffered through reading it. Just read the works found on FanFiction.Net, an absolutely amazing website that you will get addicted to.

Sometimes I think about going back to writing fanfiction, since I’m part of different fandoms than I was when I was a kid. I have one that keeps coming into my mind for the Supernatural TV Series.

We aren’t Satanists… We just love Mark Pellegrino

But that story is for another time.

Maybe it’s time for me to go back to my writing roots and start a new fanfiction. Just to write it and get back to the reason I loved writing in the first place. To get the scenarios out of my head.

Want to keep up with new posts? Click here to sign up for the weekly newsletter.

2 thoughts on “Back to My Writing Roots

  1. Hi Jessica, I think it’s great that you’re pursuing your writing! I have no patience with the idea that there is “real writing” vs. “amateur fanfic writing.” Writing is writing – as long as you enjoy it, and you are connecting with others through your writing, then it’s serving its purpose in the world. 🙂 I wish you all the best!

    • Thanks for your comment. I have no patience for the argument either. Sometimes I hear it an wonder what gives that person the right to decide what is and isn’t real writing.

Leave a Reply

