I’m Addicted To…..

So I have something to admit that I’m not very proud of.

I’m addicted to doing research. I started doing research for my novel about two or three years ago, and I don’t really know how to stop doing it. I have research in maybe 5 different notebooks, 10 more books marked or I’m starting to go through. That isn’t even mentioning the books I borrow from the library every month for research. I’ve begun to take my research to work with me and when I’m waiting for my boyfriend to get off of work (which can sometimes be hours) I’ll be working on the research. It may be taking over my life but I justify it with

“Well I want to be an expert at it before I am sure to write it.”

What I’m worried about is that I’m starting to use it as an excuse to stall my novel. Much like my short story may be used, which is actually involved in the world my novel is set just a different time period. When that worry enters my mind another thought comes in to play.

When is it time to stop the research?

How does any writer know when the research stops? So far I haven’t felt comfortable with it. Sure a bit of the lore is what I create myself but there are parts that I don’t create. For example the stories of the faoldah, and the history of herbalism. I haven’t even started on magic yet. It just makes me feel like I haven’t done enough, only a little bit of everything.

But the research pile is about as big as my comic collection. It’s taken over my bookshelves and the boxes that I brought down from NC. (Which once unpacked were filled with books.) So when I need a specific one, I start digging. Write my notes and throw it back onto the pile.

To make it worse, I’m quite disorganized a lot of the time. I try to get some sort of organizational process started; and then something happens and I forget to, or some how it doesn’t work after all. So that’s how the numerous notebooks are explained.

I’m still starting to amass quite a library on witchcraft, werewolves, and herbalist medicine. Not including all of my writing books.

I guess I’m just addicted to learning about things and I want to learn as much as I can. Maybe I just like reading too much.

49193770

No such thing as too much to read

Am I the only one with this problem? How about you, fellow writer? When do you think it’s time to stop the madness that we call research?

Want to keep up with new posts? Click here to subscribe to the weekly newsletter. I promise I won’t gunk up your inbox.

Leave a Reply

