Always Having Something to Say

One of the things I love about writing is that you always have something to say. You’re always writing whether or not you have a pen in your hand or a keyboard at your fingertips. The mind writes just as much as the fingers do.

I’m constantly writing. Whether it be in my journal, this blog, or one of my work’s in progress. I feel like if I don’t then I will never be able to get anything done…. or that if I don’t do it then I’m just not going to out of pure laziness. Unfortunately later I’ll start complaining about how I have no time to write or that I wish I had a day where I could do only that all day. Life doesn’t work that way though. Many writers don’t have the time to take an entire day to write. They have lives; families to tend to; or, like myself, have day jobs that require their attention. An entire day devoted to writing is simply out of the question here, so we fill in what we can. Even though we do that we still feel like it isn’t enough. We just have so much to say that we can’t contain it and become miserable if unable to feel the release of writing.

Sometimes I feel that way. I will admit that some days I just say out loud that I would rather be at home writing than be at work and with my friends. Of course it makes me look like a homebody, but it’s the truth. I love my job. I love the people I work with. Just sometimes I would rather be at home, in my Batman PJs and sipping on dark roast coffee just writing until my fingers start falling asleep. Ha ha. To be honest with you, I feel better after I’ve been writing. I’ve gotten everything out of my head and onto the screen or paper and with my brain being so empty it’s a little bit of a lightheaded, euphoric kind of feeling left behind.

With that I wouldn’t be surprised if someone said to me that I was addicted to writing, or that I’m trying to burn myself out on it.

Which I’ve done, multiple times. What about you? Are you the type of person who always has something to say? Do you prefer it in written form?

If you want to check out more posts and keep up with what’s new, click here to subscribe to the weekly newsletter. It’s only once a week and I’ll never try to gunk up your email.

Leave a Reply

